Government of India

*JA Term

The Government of India is the supreme governing authority of the country. It operates at both the central and state levels, with the President of India as the ceremonial head of state and the Prime Minister as the head of government.

The government follows a federal structure, where power is divided between the central government and the states. The central government is responsible for matters related to <a href='’>defense, foreign affairs, and certain other subjects, while the states have jurisdiction over a <a href='’>wide range of <a href='’>issues such as education, <a href='<a href='’>optimal-well-being/’>healthcare, and law and order.

The Government of India is based on the principles of democracy, socialism, and secularism. It strives to ensure that all citizens have equal rights and opportunities, regardless of their <a href='’>religion, caste, or gender.

The central government consists of three branches: the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary. The executive branch is headed by the President of India, who is elected by an electoral college comprising members of both houses of parliament and the legislatures of the states. The Prime Minister, who is the <a href='’>leader of the political party or coalition with a majority in the Lok Sabha (the lower house of parliament), exercises most executive powers.

The legislature, known as the Parliament of India, is a bicameral body consisting of the Rajya Sabha (the Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (the House of the People). Members of both houses are elected by the people, although the Rajya Sabha members are elected by the members of the state legislatures.

The judiciary is <a href='’>independent of the executive and legislature and acts as the guardian of the Constitution and protector of individual rights. The Supreme Court of India is the highest judicial authority in the country.

<a href='’>FAQ:

Q: How is the Prime Minister of India appointed?
A: The Prime Minister is appointed by the President of India after the general elections. The <a href='’>leader of the political party or coalition with a majority in the Lok Sabha is usually selected as the Prime Minister.

Q: What is the role of the President of India?
A: The President of India is the nominal head of state and represents the unity and integrity of the country. However, the President’s powers are largely ceremonial, and most executive powers rest with the Prime Minister.

Q: How are laws made in India?
A: Laws in India are made by the Parliament, which consists of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. A bill must be passed by both houses and receive the President’s assent to become law.

Q: Are there any restrictions on voting in India?
A: In India, citizens who are at least 18 years old and have a valid voter <a href='’>ID card are eligible to vote. However, certain categories of people, such as convicted criminals and individuals of unsound mind, are barred from voting.

Q: What is the term of office for the President of India?
A: The term of office for the President of India is five years. However, there is no limit on the number of terms a person can serve as President.

In conclusion, the Government of India plays a crucial role in ensuring the welfare and progress of the nation. With its democratic institutions and <a href='’>commitment to promoting social justice, the government strives to create a vibrant and inclusive society for all its citizens.

Scroll to top